Did You Know…

Leave a comment

June 17, 2014 by Diniquette

So this is for my Vegan, Vegetarian and Kosher friends:

Did you know that gelatin, the gelling agent found in food AND pharmaceuticals, is derived from collagen obtained from various animal by-products? Usually pork.

Gelatin, of course, can be found in marshmallows,(aka rice crispy treats), some ice cream, dips and yogurt.

The best alternative is: AGAR AGAR. This is another gelling agent but it’s made from a South East Asian seaweed.

So the next time you’re at the grocery store or pharmacy, read those ingredients and make sure you know exactly what you’re consuming.

Thanks for reading.
K

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: